Masters Golf 2020 Teams, Course, and Fields

The 84th Masters Golf tournament will make its return to the fabulous Augusta National Golf course in America. And Tiger Woods will be eager to make amends to the loss he suffered in the Memorial tournament.

All the four major golf tournaments will be held on the same golf course and this being the first major tournament of the year. This tournament was earlier supposed to be held in the month of April but due to the coronavirus it will be held in the month of November.

Masters Golf 2020 Teams, Course, and Fields

The field

Of all the four major golf tournaments that are held in a year, the Masters Golf tournament has the smallest field. It is official that the golfers who are invited can only participate in the event. But there is a certain criterion with which it is decided who can be included in the field. The classification of the players is done based on the 1st category of their qualification, with the additional categories in which the player qualified.

just on the bases of the performance in the amateur tournaments, the golfers on the original day of the start of the tournament should remain armatures, i.e. on the 12th of November. This is what makes them eligible to play.    

Another way of qualifying to the Masters tournament is the Official world Golf rankings who make it to the top 50. The cutoff will be announced about two weeks prior to the start of the tournament. With the delay in this year’s schedule the invitations have been sent to those who are in the top 50 of the OWGR. The players have been finalized on the 17th of March. Four of the players have qualified just because of their better rankings the names of the players are Scottie Scheffler, Collin Morikawa, Graeme McDowell, and Christiaan Bezuidenhout.

Players who have won the PGA tour championship during the summer and fall of the season that is restarted won’t be able to earn a 2020 Masters invitation. The restrictions are applicable to the other avenues of  Masters qualification.

Get live preview on Masters 2020 here.

Players on the field from different countries.

South America (4)North America (47)Oceania (6)Europe (23)Africa (7)Asia (9)
Columbia (1)USA (42)Fiji (1)Sweden (1)South Africa (7)Thailand (1)
Argentina (2)Canada (4)Australia (5)Italy (1) Taiwan (1)
Chile (1)Mexico (1) Spain (4) Japan (2)
   France (1) South Korea (4)
   Germany (1) China (1)
   Austria (1)  
   Northern Ireland (2)  
   England (9)  
   Scotland (1)  


Past champions expected in the field

PlayerCountryYear(s) Won
Tiger WoodsUSA1997, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2019
Patrick ReedUSA2018
Sergio GarcíaSpain2017
Danny WillettEngland2016
Jordan SpiethUSA2015
Bubba WatsonUSA2012, 2014
Adam ScottAustralia2013
Charl SchwartzelSouth Africa2011
Phil MickelsonUSA2004, 2006, 2010
Angel CabreraArgentina2009
Trevor ImmelmanSouth Africa2008
Zach JohnsonUSA2007
Mike WeirCanada2003
Vijay SinghFiji2000
Jose Maria OlazabalSpain1994, 1999
Bernhard LangerGermany1985, 1993
Fred CouplesUSA1992
Sandy LyleScotland1988
Larry MizeUSA1987


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *